Another One Flees Cox Media Plantation!

Standard

Lost a Pulitizer winner this time too. Even the lure of new used-car money can’t hold ’em down on the plantation. From Romenesko:

Memo from Atlanta Journal-Constitution managing editor/news Hank Klibanoff

To: The AJC staff
From: Hank
Date: June 24, 2008

I don’t have an anecdotal lede, a way to foreshadow a suspenseful ending, or some clever device to hook you. I have some news that is difficult to write and best served straight up: I am leaving the paper.

Over the past few months, the feeling that I might want to do something else has grown even more intense. And I kept hearing, from deep in my childhood, words of the man best known for uttering the Golden Rule, Rabbi Hillel, some 2000 years ago. But the Hillel maxim that landed in my mind and would not leave was the third question in the challenging series of three queries Rabbi Hillel asked, questions that exist at the interplay between selfishness and selflessness: “If I am not for myself, then who will be for me? And if I am only for myself, then what am I? And if not now, when?”

Julia Wallace’s response here. Bye bye party at Manuel’s Friday at 7pm. (Great blogger crash-op, eh?!)

Leave a Reply

