Should Journalists Be “Allowed” To Have Personal Blogs?

Standard

According to Bloggasm blogger, Simon, who conducted a comprehensive survey of 250 editors and publishers (not all of those bothered to respond to SImon’s survey though):

Approximately 44% of newspaper editors and publishers wouldn’t allow their staff writers to maintain personal blogs without prior approval.

Full story here. It’s that word “allow” that is so troubling, isn’t it? Especially in the context of writers and journalists. Take the buyout kiddies. Blog to your heart’s content.

And any journalists out there reading this (and I know who you are), Bloggasm is a terrific blog. With plenty of that precious “credibility.” On top, of course.

One response »

  1. If you get paid to report for a publication, then what you write represents and reflects on that publication, its policies and standards, its brand and reputation, and the whole kit and kaboodle.

    So I am completely sympathetic to requiring journalists to discuss personal blogging projects with their employer first.

    On the other hand, when I worked as an editor of a small trade weekly, I used to publish a personal blog myself.

    Since I was the boss, I just gave myself permission, but I also suggested to my big boss that the company should probably have, not only a policy on personal blogs, but an approach to using blogs to enliven its Web site. Not that anyone ever listened to me. (This was a VERY small trade weekly, mind you.)

    On that blog, I wrote only about general topics relating to editing and being an editor; never discussed the content of the publication I edited or goings on in my workplace; and had a strong disclaimer that this dumb little blog was nothing more than my personal notes, and did not reflect the views of my employer.

    There is a line somewhere where you have to decide whether you want to write for your publication or for yourself.

    If you hate working for the Gotham Courier and think it sucks, you should either quit or else get promoted so that the paper reflects how you think things ought to be done.

    Blogging in your free time that you hate working for the Gotham Courier while working for the Gotham Courier is just unprofessional and, well, creepy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

