The Passing of a Georgia Legend

Standard

I was hired for my first paying journalism gig, many moons ago, by a colleague of Hamilton Jordan’s from their White House years. At the time, Jordan’s name literally rang throughout Georgia, in those post-Carter years when all the Carter Administration were dispersed back home to Georgia to take-up powerful positions in politics and media and business.

I didn’t know the great man personally, although I’ve heard so many tall tales by now I feel like I do. So I’ll let Matt Towery tell the story and the fitting goodbyes.

It was a friend telling me that Hamilton Jordan, former chief-of-staff to Jimmy Carter, had finally lost a valiant, graceful, powerful battle against cancer. The phone just kept ringing after that. With no television, no phones, no Internet, I did what came natural to me. I drove to my office where there was power and wrote this column.

I understand that in the past few decades we have become such a polarized nation that it is impossible to extol the virtues of someone associated with a former Democratic president, particularly an active and often colorful former president such as Jimmy Carter, without immediately upsetting the most partisan of readers. Well, get over it. Hamilton Jordan taught a lot of lessons.

Full obit here.

Leave a Reply

